Skip to main content

2010 Distinguished Achievement Awards

The recipients of our fifth annual URI Distinguished Achievement Awards were honored on October 23, 2010 at a celebration held at the Providence Westin Hotel. See photos from the DAA celebration and receptions.

The URI Distinguished Achievement Awards (DAA) honor those individuals or corporations who personify its tradition of excellence in professional achievement, leadership contributions, and/or community service, thereby bringing distinction to themselves and to the University of Rhode Island.

During Homecoming Weekend each year, the University of Rhode Island Distinguished Achievement awards recognize four to six distinguished alumni and/or friends with this honor. At the same time, the deans of each of the University's degree-granting colleges name honorees representing their areas to receive Dean's List Awards.

Learn more about DAA President's Award Recipients and Dean's List honorees. In the videos below, President's Award recipients share their stories about URI.

The 2010 DAA President's Award Recipients

Martha E. Banks, M.A. ’79, Ph.D. ’81, renowned for her expertise on issues involving women, trauma, and health care, is a research neuropsychologist at the Research and Development Division of ABackans DCP, Inc. in Akron, Ohio, and a former professor at The College of Wooster in Ohio. Play video.

[Harrington]Richard J. Harrington '73, Hon. '02 is chairman and general partner of The Cue Ball Group. He most recently served as CEO of the world’s largest information services firm, The Thomson Corporation, now The Thomson Reuters Corporation. At Cue Ball, Harrington helps set the overall strategic direction and plays an active role across investments. Play video.

[Simon]Franklin W. Simon ’50 is owner and president of The Simon Companies. A highly decorated World War II hero and engineering entrepreneur, he has been instrumental in providing housing for the elderly and low-to-moderate income individuals and families over the past 50 years. Play video.

[Yeung]Kwok K. Yeung, Ph.D. '79 is vice-president of research and development at IDEXX Laboratories in Westbrook, Maine. The company focuses primarily on pet health, and sells a variety of products worldwide to veterinarians, including in-clinic diagnostic tests and instrumentation, laboratory services, and practice management software. He holds ten U.S. patents. Play video.

For more information, please contact the Office of Public Programming and Special Events at 401.874.9455 or

The URI Distinguished Achievement Award recipients are selected by a committee composed of representatives from URI’s colleges, the Office of the President, the Office of the Provost, the Division of University Advancement, the Department of Athletics, the Alumni Association, and the graduate and undergraduate student body. Note: Faculty, staff, students, and honorary degree recipients are not eligible to receive a University of Rhode Island Distinguished Achievement Award.



In addition to the four President's Distinguished Achievement Award honorees, URI’s individual colleges and the Graduate School of Oceanography honor the following Dean’s List recipients.

Alan Shawn Feinstein College of Continuing Education and the Graduate School
Paul F. Fioravanti ’88, M.P.A ’95, M.B.A. ’99
Mary A. Parella ’82, M.C.P. ’89

College of Arts and Sciences
Shannon E. Chandley ’83
Thomas J. Silvia ’83
Laureen L. White ’81

College of Business Administration
Wesley R. Card ’70
Jay A. Kaiser ’68
Alan R. Spachman ’69, M.B.A. ’71

College of Engineering
Jay William Harford ’61, M.S. ’62
Dorothy S. Rasco ’81
Richard Schloesser, friend

College of the Environment and Life Sciences
Mary E. Landry, M.M.A. ’95
Frances W. Ingersoll ’74

College of Human Science and Service
Diane Chace Fannon ’74
Christine Scott Pelton ’84
Kevin J. Pelton ’84
Barbara L. Wilson, M.L.S. ’69 (deceased)

College of Nursing
Terri L. Maxwell ’82
Ken Owens, friend
Ruth C. Waldman, M.S. ’75 (deceased)

College of Pharmacy
William H. Lang ’49
Lois Vars Mason ’62
Justina A. Molzon ’73, M.S. ’76

Graduate School of Oceanography
Peter R. Betzer, Ph.D. ’72
Sybil Putnam Seitzinger, Ph.D. ’82